Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Naas Municipal District held at 3:00pm on Tuesday, 11 July 2023 in Punchestown Racecourse

Members Present: Councillor E Sammon (Mayor), S Moore, A Breen, B Clear, C Kelly, B Quinn, F Brett.

Officials Present: Mr E Ryan (District Manager), Ms C O'Grady (Senior Executive Officer), Ms M Richardson (Meetings Administrator) and Ms J Fogarty (Meetings Secretary).

NS01/0723

Election of Mayor

Councillor Sammon welcomed all the members to the Naas Municipal District annual meeting at Punchestown Racecourse and thanked them for a successful year. She also welcomed the newly elected Councillor Bob Quinn to his first meeting of the Naas Municipal District. She thanked the staff in Kildare County Council for their services and support throughout the year.

Councillor Sammon expressed her gratitude to David Mongey, Conor O'Neill, and Natasha Graham for their invaluable assistance in organising the use of the racecourse for the Naas annual meeting. Adding that it was hard to believe that her year as Mayor of Naas was coming to an end. It had been an incredible year, filled with challenges, triumphs, and countless memories. Some of the highlights of the year included the Bealtaine Festival, welcoming Rory Best to Naas as he walked 300km to Mayo. The work on the Potato Market and the Naas Farmers Market. Planning permission was granted for a playground and skate park in Ballymore Eustace something that the members had looked for over 20 years, and St Brigid's day. Naas once again won the IBAL Cleanest Town Award with all credit going to Naas Tidy Towns and Kildare County Council. Councillor Sammon invited nominations for the position of Mayor of the Naas Municipal District.

Councillor Moore proposed Councillor Clear, and this was seconded by Councillor Kelly.

Councillor Sammon asked if there were any other nominations.

Councillor Quinn proposed Councillor Breen, and this was seconded by Councillor Breen.

Following a vote by the members, with five members voting in favour of Councillor Clear, two members voting in favour of Councillor Breen, Councillor Clear was deemed elected as Mayor of the Naas Municipal District.

Resolved in accordance with section 37 (a) and (c) of the Local Government Act 2001 as amended, that on the proposal of Councillor Moore, seconded by Councillor Kelly with five members voting in favour of Councillor Clear, two members voting in favour of Councillor Breen, Councillor Clear was deemed elected as Mayor of the Naas Municipal District.

Councillor Clear took the Chair.

He thanked the members for electing him and stated he was honoured to work with them and aimed to work as a team.

NS02/0723

Election of Deputy Mayor

Councillor Clear invited nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor of the Naas Municipal District.

Councillor Clear proposed Councillor Moore for the position, and this was seconded by Councillor Moore. Councillor Clear asked if there were any other nominations.

Councillor Breen proposed Councillor Quinn, and this was seconded by Councillor Quinn.

Following a vote by the members, with four members voting in favour of Councillor Moore, two members voting in favour of Councillor Quinn and no abstentions, Councillor Moore was deemed elected as Deputy Mayor of the Naas Municipal District.

Councillor Moore thanked the members for the nomination and looked forward to the year ahead.

Resolved on the proposal of Councillor Clear, seconded by Councillor Moore with five members voting in favour of Councillor Moore, two members voting in favour of Councillor Quinn, Councillor Moore was deemed elected as Deputy Mayor of the Naas Municipal District.

The Meetings Administrator congratulated the new Mayor and Deputy Mayor and stated she looked forward to working with them during their term and she thanked the outgoing Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

The meeting concluded.